Once the Rows Start

March 25, 2009

… I know that I am well and truly home.

Having spent time in Victoria, where bush fires had caused the governnment to declare a state of national emergency, the fussing that goes on in Ireland is an increasing source of mystery and, I have to admit, high hilarity.

Everywhere I go I find people on the verge of revolution.
I was much cheered by the lively sales assistant who encouraged me to complain to the government about a new plastic bag tax. Up to last week or so, only large, offensive looking bags that might cause environmental melt down were subject to payment at the check-out. Now the tiny, flimsy bags that used be available for free cost 22 cents. This meant I was happy to carry my meat in the original (presumably free?) bag, confident that by keeping it away from the rest of the groceries I was still behaving in a hygenic and modern way.

Such problems are definitely the very stuff of civil unrest…

2 Responses to “Once the Rows Start”

  1. DaviMack Says:

    “Taxation with representation isn’t such a wonderful thing, either.”Don’t know who said it, nor if it’s entirely correct, but the sentiment is there.


  2. Here you are…See the Quote by Gerald Barzan


Leave a Reply

